RSS Feed

Blueberry Pancake Messes

Posted on

So, I made blueberry pancakes this morning. Because…um…blueberries! Healthy! End of Season! Yuh huh. I am tragically pictureless, because I ate them all. In lieu of pictures enjoy this leaping fox

 

Wheeeeeeeeeoooooshiiiit

 

Fresh off the stove. Mr. Lee Hales, being the dangerous furruner that he is, doesn’t like American pancakes (pancakes in South Africa are what we call crepes here. Snobs!), so they were all mine MINE MWUAAHAHAHAHAHA…ahem.

I adapted the recipe from http://erincooks.com/blueberry-pancakes/ but changed a couple of things because that’s how I roll. Here is my adaptation:

2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 heaping teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon sugar
Pinch salt
1 1/3 cups milk
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon lemon extract                                                                                                               1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract                                                                                                                3/4 cup fresh blueberries                                                                                                                  A pinch of cinnamon, very small amounts, nutmeg, mace and cloves. Like, one shake from the container.                                                                                                                                    Butter, for frying pancakes                                                                                                          Best quality maple syrup

“Melt the butter and set aside to cool slightly.

In a large, wide-necked measuring cup, measure out the flour and add the baking powder, sugar and salt. Stir to combine.

In another cup, measure the milk, beat in the eggs and then the slightly cooled butter, and pour the liquid ingredients into the dry ingredients, whisking as you do so. Then gently fold in the lemon zest and blueberries.

Now, heat either a griddle or nonstick frying pan, smear with a small bit of butter and then start frying. I just pour small amounts straight from the cup (but you could use a 1/4-cup measure if you prefer) so that you have wiggly circumferenced disks. When you see bubbles erupting on the surface, turn the pancakes over and cook for a couple of minutes, if that, on the other side.”

Sooooo…. I’ll confess, I didn’t exactly follow these directions. I mean, I did with the mixing and that was great. But, I decided I was too hungry for dainty child sized 1/4 cup pancakes and just poured batter right onto my skillet. Yeeeeah. They weren’t photogenic, but luckily I ate the evidence.

What would I do differently?

Be patient and lower the fucking heat on the skillet. That way, they can cook more slowly and  you won’t make a pigs ear when you flip them because the outside is cooking too quickly and the inside isn’t cooked at all. Also, I would suggest adding a scoche more milk, so that the batter thins out a little, but not too much.

Other than that? I would make someone else cook them so I can sit down and savor instead of bolting them hot off the skillet. Maybe.

About Pepper

Pepper Lee Hales is a twenty something, married, vicious feminist liberal. She likes dogs, cats, spiders, epistemics and cake.

Leave a Reply

